top of page

Yutaka Sao - Interview Romania


Yutaka - Bassist / Composer / Producer from Japan living in LA. He's been featured on Grammy's, AOL Music, Billboard. Right now he is a member of two bands The Superjoys and LittleGalaxies. So !!! Lets get into the interview and know him a little more. As usually the interview is dedicated to romanian supporters and as well for the fans from all over the world.

1. Please introduce yourself to all the music lovers who don`t know you yet .

Y: Hi, my name is Yutaka Sao from LA. I’m a Japanese bass player. Currently I’m playing with The Superjoys ( facebook.com/thesuperjoys ) & Little Galaxies ( facebook.com/littlegalaxies ).

2 . First lets speak a little bit about ‘’ Ruby Eyes ‘’ music band who was founded in 2012 right ?! what is the meaning behind the name ? Who is composing the songs ? Y: For the first question, it didn’t have too much meaning. I just wanted people to get a positive “feel” when they heard “Ruby Eyes”. I think nobody has negative thoughts about jewelry stones. Plus, I love to wear them, haha. I used to play with a band named “The Deadlies”. People often thought we played death metal when they heard our band’s name. That’s why I liked to try to have a more positive sounding name for the band. Furthermore, I composed everything & Tim (vocal) added his vocals & lyrics. Unfortunately, we’re not working together anymore. We broke up last year.

3 . You play bass in ‘’ LittleGalaxies ‘’ band and in ‘’ The Superjoys’’ as well, now please describe more these bands influences and concepts ? What is the story behind the newest band `` The Superjoys `` ? Tell me how do you manage working with three different music bands ? Who is your favourite ?

Y: Yeah, Little Galaxies is one of my bands but Amir (guitar) & Jeanna (vocal) started this band. Originally I was hired for their west coast tour last summer and they already had 12 songs before we worked together. So, my job was to support the band members and play those songs, more than showing myself at that time. I feel their original bass parts are more like ‘a part’ of the songs than a general bass position. It’s still bass but it is like the bass is holding the music from the outside more than from the inside. I think the bass is the core in any music but Little Galaxies’s bass lines are to create a comfortable atmosphere & make space for the vocals & instruments with depth. Also, they wanted me to play less notes than their original basslines (from their album). I feel my role in this band is to be a foundation for the others as best as I can, so they can rest easy and focus on doing what they do best.

About The Superjoys, I started this as my new project while I was working with Ruby Eyes. The reason I started The Superjoys was simply to play more of my own kind of music. I just wanted to show myself more in the songs. I had no complaints to play with Ruby Eyes but I just kept composing a lot of new songs at that same time. That’s why I needed a new project, to work on those songs. I did most of the work for The Superjoys’ 1st EP by myself, except vocals & lyrics. Originally, I was trying to finish the songs with just me & Jordan (vocal). However, while we were recording, we met Brad (guitar). I let him play a couple lead guitar tracks and thought it would be a good idea to include him in the band. Also recently, we have gained two new members: Brian (Drums) & Ryo (2nd Guitar). We have already done a couple of shows together and hopefully will be able to finish another EP before June/July.

Playing for several projects and with other musicians refreshes me and makes me feel more creative. For Little Galaxies, Amir & Jeanna are taking care of the band the most. That means I don’t have to worry about anything else. I can follow their lead and just focus on the music. For The Superjoys it’s different. I started this project, so I have to lead this band to have a better future. That includes dealing with the business side. Basically, I’m working much harder for The Superjoys than for Little Galaxies.

4 . Together with LittleGalaxies you guys won The Deli Magazine Readers' Poll for Best Emerging Los Angeles Artist of 2014 , right ? how did you received this awesome news ? do you think this was a good start for LittleGalaxies band ?

Y: Well, for the voting we got a lot of support from most of my own fans. I thought we had to win this for sure for them. I don’t think winning the Readers’ Poll is something special for Little Galaxies (they already had some foot in the ground before I joined). I liked to win this, because I felt it would be “something special” between us & Little Galaxies’ fans. As a result, I feel the band has a better relationship with their fans compared to before. After winning, I think we will have to work harder to live up to their expectations, so they can love us even more.

5 . You are a bassist, composer and a producer, right ? when you've found your passion for music ? and for composing as well ?

Y: This might be a difficult question, haha. I’m just doing what I like to do. Having the support of our/my fans is definitely a key part in being able to stay passionate about playing and creating music. I’ve been taking care of the fans a lot ever since I was playing with The Deadlies. I love communicating with them and hearing their honest opinions.

6 . What was the best moment you had so far working with any of these bands and explain why ? What is the reason you keep pushing forward every time , fighting and working hard in the music industry and not giving up ?

Y: For example, The Superjoys had a show recently and my bandmembers’ parents’ showed up there. I felt they really enjoyed the show and were proud of their children. I’d like to say that’s always the best moment for me. The same thing happened when I was working with Ruby Eyes. Mike(Guitar) & Matt(Drums)’s family also came to see Ruby Eyes’ show. It might be weird but I love to see their families happy because of what we’re doing. Maybe because I can’t do it for my own family (they’re too far from the United States).

In my music career, I think I had the hardest time when The Deadlies broke up. It truly broke my heart. However, The Deadlies’ fans were still trying to support me. They gave me back my strength and I’m very grateful for that. Also, Nathan Picard. This guy always made me feel better whenever I had any troubles. I used to work with him in a band & for his solo project. His music saved my life so many times (he doesn’t know this though, haha!).

7 . Why people should start listening to LittleGalaxies and The Superjoys bands ? what are you guys bringing new to the music scene ?

Y: I don’t think people “should” listen to us, that’s their choice. Hopefully we will be lucky enough to be their “choice” someday.

8 . You`ve performed outside of US ? Would you like to have concerts abroad in the future and where ?

Y: Beside the US I have only played in Japan. Actually, I have my own fans outside of the United States. I definitely would like to go and see them, talk to them and of course play for them.

9 . Do you think that if members of a band that come from all over the world and from ranging musical backgrounds it is a bonus for creating unique music ? or its all about mutual tastes and ideas in the process of creating music ?

Y: I think it can work well both ways but also backfire. It depends on what you would like to accomplish as a band.

10 . Now please send a message to the readers of my blog .Finally but not least please send a message for romanian supporters as well .

Y: I’ve been having huge support from Romanian fans since I was working with The Deadlies. I hope that someday me and my bandmembers can have the chance to play in front of all of you. Thank you so much for everything and with a bit of luck, see you soon in Romania!

Thank you for taking your time and answering to my questions . GOOD LUCK Yutaka !!!

Twitter > Yutakasao The Superjoys ( facebook.com/thesuperjoys ) Facebook > Little Galaxies ( facebook.com/littlegalaxies ) Website > Little Galaxies ( http://www.littlegalaxiesband.com/ )

Autor : Laura Cioroianu ( artist & japanese rock promoter ) Romania

bottom of page