top of page

OROCHI Interview - Romania


Dear people . Here you have an exclusive interview with OROCHI for Romania . After the band OROCHI were our guests and performing a great show in Bucharest four years ago , he wants to share with us some news and some good thoughts . I wish you all a pleasant reading . Do not forget to share this interview if you support too japanese rock music . Please enjoy !!!

1 . What is the meaning behind the name of the band `` Orochi `` ?

It means eight headed dragon from an ancient Japanese Myth .

The myth says : `` OROCHI is the deep rooted myth and thrill of Japan. The story tells that once upon a time, there was a dragon called Yamatano Orochi. His eyes were red like boiling blood , had eight heads and eight tails with the length of eight valleys. Every year, this monster took a beautiful virgin from a village as a sacrifice. A samurai called Susanoo heard this tragedy. So he fought Orochi and slew its eight heads apart. His spirit became immortal and his strength was given to four young Samurais, who control the Land of Rising Sun since the year 16 . ``

2 . Please introduce the whole band members . Also describe the music genre that fits the band the best . It is visual kei an influence too ?

OROCHI is a solo project now. RYU is the singer and composer. I play all the instruments such as Electric guitar, bass guitar, keyboard and Japanese traditional instruments ( koto- Japanese harp, Shino-bue-Japanese flute RYU-teki Non kan etc) I have influence from visual rock but not too much. I think art must to be original. If I want to make a real music art , I do not want to imitate other musicians .

3 . Do you guys enjoy performing outside of Japan ?

I like tours. I love to make tours ! There are so many different cultures all over the world and I would like to exchange my culture through my rock shows. I believe that is marvelous !

4 . What are the inspirations for composing music ? Who is writing the lyrics and wich one is composing ?

I write the lyrics . I get inspiration when i travel by trains , cars or motor bike! Speed make me to create new melodies and music styles. I create melody and lyrics at the same time. The melody is like the feeling and lyrics are the sounds . Together they make a story and a world for the song. I wrote the translations on the internet , so please take a look if you want to understand the lyrics !

5 . Any new collaborations are coming soon ? Who would you like to collaborate with the most ?

Right now I collaborate with a few visual artists for my CD`s image , style and site . Graphic Designer CD cover design - Benicco http://www.benicco.com/ Logo and song title

Calligraphy artist - Nozao Shingo http://www.shingonozao.jp/ Accessary designer - Goldleathr http://goldleather.jp/

6 . You did a great job at the concert in Romania some years ago . Would you like to have a concert in Romania again ?

Whenever! Please invite me!! 7 . Please send a message to all japanese rock supporters from Romania .

Thanks very much . I have never forgotten the final day of the tour in Romania 2011 23rd April at Silver Church in Bucharest . I caught a cold after I came back to Japan. I believe the fans energy makes me avoid catching a cold ! SAMURAI ROCK ON!

We thank you very much !!! Do your best OROCHI !!!

OROCHI Official site : http://orochi.info/

Translator : Roxana Naramzi - Romania Autor : Laura Cioroianu - Romania

bottom of page