top of page

GYZE Interview - Romania

Dear j-rock fans . Today`s guests are GYZE . It is a Japanese melodic death metal band formed of 3 members, Ryoji (Gt,Vo,Key,Produce), Shuji(Dr) and Aruta (Ba,Vo). I invite everyone to please check out their exclusive interview below dedicated to the fans from all over the world. Lets find out more about them because they are really great. I wish you a pleasant reading .

1 . What is the meaning behind the band’s name, “ Gyze `` ?

Nice to meet you. I’m GYZE’s frontman , Ryoji. The parts I’m playing in the band are the following : guitar vocals, songwriter and producer . The meaning of the name “GYZE” comes from my and our drummer Shuji’s parents’beauty salon called “GIZE”. And the beauty salon’s name surely comes from the Great Pyramid of Giza from Egypt. That’s why the pronunciation is “GIZE” not “GUYS” . Before, when we played in Taiwan with DRAGONFORCE as support act we were called “GUYS”. (laughs) Even our fans from Japan spell it wrong sometimes.

2 . Please introduce the whole band members . Also describe the music genre that fits the band the best . Is visual kei an influence too ?

Ok, I think I’ve already introduced myself, so I’ll start with the other members. First is Shuji, the drummer. I think I mentioned before that we are brothers, so we started the band together. While his drumming style is really technical, he plays the drums in a crazy and powerful way. He’s an uncommon drum hero. The other member is Aruta, our bassist. He is with us since 2013. That’s why he is not playing in our 1st album 「FASCINATING VIOLENCE」.During the live , he’s also doing the backing vocals.

I know that it would have been interesting to answer “yes” to this question , but Vkei doesn’t represent that much an influence for us. However, I liked so much X JAPAN, as is a big band very well known by many people . I also liked GLAY, which is a band from the same hometown as GIZE, Hokkaido. But we are friends with the guys from DELUHI, and before we played together on stage with JUPITER, so there are also capable and solid V kei bands in Japan. On the other side, Vkei also gave me an impression of neglected performance. A! There’s also TheGazette which is very famous thanks to its unique atmosphere. From Japan’s metal bands I liked a lot SERPENT, which is a Melodeath band. But in fact, what greatly influenced GYZE’sound was European metal. I’ve been listening a lot to bands such as :Children Of Bodom,Norther,Kalmah,ArchEnemy , Disarmonia Mundi and the list of examples is endless. And then I thought I want to make a band similar to these ones. After, I thought to make a band similar to the pioneers of Vkei. Even now,KISS is my No1 band , even though the generations are so different. And I started playing guitar, because I wanted to be a rock star like Paul Stanley.

3 . How is the `` Black Bride World Tour `` going on so far ? Do you guys enjoy performing outside of Japan ? How was the atmosphere until now ?

Actually, I’m writing this after we finished the show with DRAGONFORCE in Taiwan. After , we have schedule to go to CHINA and Hong Kong. In Hong Kong we will perform on the same stage with Children of Bodom and Carcass. I’m so excited! Our next appearance will be at the LOUD PARK festival, which is the biggest metal fest from Japan. The festival will take place in a big arena with more than 10,000 people capacity so we are just overwhelmed by emotions and looking forward to this event. There will also perform MEGADETH, a great band from the metal scene to which I gave my support during the years. Please check them out. And after this we will perform at a festival in Germany. Until now, we had tours only in Taiwan and Korea but the crowds from there were so energized. In Taiwan I could do also some workout, so I’m satisfied. In Japan or in any other place around the world, I want to be moved by the audience. That being said, I want to bring the best feelings during our performance everywhere we go !

4 . What are the inspirations for composing music ? Who is writing the lyrics and which one is composing ?

It’s a difficult question.. For example, my hobby is fishing. When I go to the lakes and forests from Nakanokawa, the inspiration comes naturally. Another place good for my inspiration is our hometown, Hokkaido, which is the northernmost island from Japan. This image is probably different from the one the people from Romania have about Japan. It’s an atmosphere close to the one from Finland and Canada.. that’s why GYZE’sound it’s a little bit different from the other bands from Japan. Right now I need to focus on my activities from Tokyo such as the band’s concerts and my guitar seminars but recently, when I feel the need to compose, I’m going to my hometown how often I can. In a city with so many people, like Tokyo , my inspiration in making metal songs might disappear. (laughs) Of course, I also get my inspiration from the bands I’ve been listen to until now. If there is a man who writes songs without listening to other bands, I want to see him. Regarding GYZE, I’m the one who writes the lyrics and makes the music in proportion of 120%.In the same time, I’m also the producer of the band. But Shuji is a great composer as well. But his sound it’s not like the beautiful and wicked sound of GYZE. His work has got a more refreshing atmosphere. It would be so nice if I could give you the opportunity to hear also Shuji’songs.

5 . What was the best achievement until now ? Any new collaborations coming soon ?

In fact, GYZE’s present activities are the dreams we had long time ago. In the first place, the fact that we’ve been released by CORONER RECORDS from Italy was the best. I liked to work especially with Ettore Rigotti from DisarmoniaMundi. After, we had our major debut in Japan in 2014. I was so happy when we had own show at a live house with 1000 people capacity. It’s a live house where many foreign metal band play often, but it’s not that easy for the metal bands from Japan to play in it. Also, I was so happy about our collaborations with DRAGONFORCE and our Asia tour with CHILDREN OF BODOM and CARCASS. It was the best. But because playing on the stage of LOUD PARK was a big goal for us, I’m very happy . Talking about the future, I want to record as soon as possible the songs we have now and release our 3rd Album. And I also want to shoot more music videos. Our main goal is to make GYZE known and loved around the world. We’ll work hard for this. I also want to make an European Tour.. In rest, continuing writing great songs and going fishing every day, this is what I call life !! ( laughs)

6 . Would you like to have a concert in Romania someday as well?

Of course !!! In Japan , if you say Romania we think about the country of Dracula . This is our impression. I definitely believe it’s a great country. If you read this interview and get interested in GYZE, you can write us at the following address: info@gyze.jp We are accepting offers anytime.

7 . Please send a message to all Japanese rock supporters from Romania . Thank you for taking your time for this interview .

Hello! We are a band from a distant land but our hearts are always facing the world!! I believe that we’ll meet in the near future !!! Please always support GYZE !!!

Official website : http://www.gyze.jp/

Facebook : GYZE

SUBSCRIBE to YOUTUBE CHANNELS : GYZE http://www.youtube.com/user/GYZEChannel

Ryoji

Twitter : @Ryoji_OFFICIAL

Facebook : RYOJI GYZE

Shuji

Twitter : @shuji_OFFICIAL

Facebook : SHUJI GYZE

Aruta

Twitter : @Aruta_official

Facebook : 渡邊主太

Translation : Roxana Naramzi - Romania

Autor : Laura Cioroianu - Romania

bottom of page