top of page

Ryo Fujimura Interview

Hey little rockers . Welcome back to my world full of talented people , each one in their own fantastic way . My first guest on my website from 2016 it is a unique japanese musician straight from Saitama , Japan . Without any further introduction , let`s get into the interview with Ryo Fujimura . He is so into experimental music and his answers were very straightforward and funny .

Feel free to find out more about him in the interview below exclusive for Romania . As well please share if you support j-music too . As usually each interview it is written in english so that could be understood by as many japanese music fans as possible .

1 . First , please introduce yourself as an artist ?

Ryo・I'm a Musician, Songwriter/Trackmaker and Lyricist. Basically this is the only way to try to find my own philosophy.

2 . When did you start your music career ? It was always your passion ?

Ryo・I don't get what you mean but if “music career” means play and making music based on some professional contract, I started my professional musical career when I was 25 years old, I got a major contract between a company under the control of EMI Japan. My first musical experience was Organ and Piano school at kindergarden, when I was about 3 years old. At age 15 I joined so many bands in high school as a keyboard player. Also I began to play guitar at age 16 and then I got 7strings guitar when I was 19 years old. Music makes me something special. Music is the only way to save my strange mind. Without music, I'm nothing (maybe a bit handsome and thin than typical Japanese guys but almost nothing, maybe horrible than typical because I'm difficult.)

3 . How many instruments do you play ? It is true that you produce songs as well ?

Ryo・I just have left and right hand, so I can play only one or two instruments in same time. (kidding) I can play Piano,Guitar and Bass. And of course I can write and arrange songs. Everyday I make one track and upload it on Youtube and Soundcloud since this year started, I call it “Daily Sound Scape”, so if you are interested, please check them.

4 . Any interesting projects for this year ? and what is your biggest achievement until now as a musician ?

Ryo・Project? Now I'm planning with REGEN to make a tour in Europe. If we can get enough help from some organizer(sometimes they're my old friends), we'll fly for playing our music in front of you. And past biggest achievement is... it's quite a difficult question. Because I'm not so good and I don't like to talk about past things so much, sorry. Every memories are important for me, normally a big concert is easy to remember and maybe it seems to be the best for musicians. For me, there is not so big difference between playing in front of “2000 people like it was at France Japan Expo 2008” and “10 or 20 in a bar in Luxemberg”, or when ”1000 people came to see show at Mexico J-Fest3” and “40 or 50 people joined to my solo concert at Celaya ”... The number of people that come for a concert it is important for the event and of course I'm glad to see an audience as huge as waves. But you know, I'm just a selfish musician, basically i am only playing music for me. Not famous as commercial musicians, basically no one knows but the audience who came to see and enjoys it .

5 . Do you feel much pressure being a solo artist ? rather than when you were part of AciD FLavoR band ? Also , tell us more about your new group called RUTEN ?

Ryo・Honestly, a solo career is easier than how it was in AciD FlavoR, I don't feel any pressure now. About the new band “REGEN” is absolutely perfect for me. Because I don't have to push the members hardly to become better musicians as used to be in the past with the bands AciD FlavoR and RUTEN. AciD FlavoR were nice at first and they were not so good musicians, but because they were really strict into playing and to be better musicians , finally I've got a major deal with them so it's a glorious memory. RUTEN was the worst experience for me, I don't want to talk about them, they betrayed me , so they only belong to the past . The band REGEN is basically 3 members looking like old style trio rock band as the police Rush and Placebo. My roll is guitarist and vocalist. Sometimes I play keyboard in a few parts of the songs. Bass player is ”Pippi” and Drummer is ”Sho”, they're my old friends and great players. Maybe we'll get a lead singer,” DAIKI” he's also my old friend . Pippi and DAIKI played a long time in same band, sometimes my past bands had concerts in the same venue. They played hard rock and heavy metal, DAIKI's voice and Pippi's plays are very good. Sho is the key person of my life, after I finished my career in AciD FlavoR. I lost the confidence to start a new band. The solo career is quite nice for me. The first time we met was in a comedy show in Tokyo, one of my friends Shin Kobayashi (he is photographer) called to us to come to see the comedy show. After the show we hang out, I gave my demo songs to Sho and I asked him to help me with my solo band if he will have the time. The next day we had a session, we hang out, talking and drinking. I really liked Sho's style and attitude. Later on we made the band named “Rights in Corrosion” but it was disbanded shortly yet we're still good friends. And in 2014 I wanted to make a new experimental band but you know “Experimental” is not easy for oneman player. I need versatile musicians to form REGEN, they fit in the best. They're younger than me, I'm the older member in the band.

6. Would you like to come to perform in Romania someday ?

Ryo・Sure! If you can find and book some bar , small venue or playing space, we'll go to Rock!

7 . Please send a message for japanese rock supporters from Romania .

Ryo・Thank you for having an interest in Japanese culture. I'm not as famous as the commercial musicians and I'm really bad at Origami.

But me and my friends can rock better than anything.

When I will have a concert in Romania, please come to see me and enjoy my own Rock philosophy!

Thank you for reading and see you in not so far !

We thank you for your time Ryo.

お時間を頂いて、ありがとうございます!

Good luck !!!

今これからも頑張ってください!

Facebook Official Page > Ryo Fujimura

♪ Download his new album 'Life is interesting' on I-tunes > http://goo.gl/9Yn5u

Author : Laura Cioroianu ( J-Rock promoter Romania )

Translator : Roxana Naramzi ( Translator Romania )

著者:チョロヤヌローラ(Jロックプロモーター*ルーマニア*)

翻訳:RoxanaNaramzi(ナラムジロクサナ*ルーマニア*)

bottom of page